KDF Recruit – 2500 Melee Kills: Or, AFK for fun and profit.

I just completed the 2500 melee kill goal on my KDF recruit, and I did it almost entirely AFK. I figure I ought to share the process for anyone else that may be interested in getting it done with minimal pain. The steps are below:

  1. Get a melee weapon that has a lunge feature; swords, Furiadon Fangs, or even the Bat’leth of Sto’Vo’Kor.
  2. Enable auto attack for your weapons.
    1. Options -> Control (Ground), Auto attack -> Toggle, never cancels.
    2. Right-click on your weapon attacks to enable auto attack. Some weapons should only have primary and secondary set to auto, some should have all three.
  3. Set up three healer BOffs and one shield heal BOff.
  4. IMPORTANT: Under Options -> Controls (Ground), make sure “Select attacker if attacked” is “On”.
  5. Launch the mission “Partisans” and fight through the first bar section.
  6. When you get to the Arena, set your BOffs to passive and activate “Threatening Posture”.
  7. Walk to all three generators so the creatures start spawning.
  8. Go to one of the initial spawn areas and start attacking one of the creatures.
  9. Get up, stretch your legs, and let it go for a while.

That’s it. It took a while, especially since Adet’Pa and Martok will sometimes take aggro, but eventually something will attack you. And I did have to respawn once or twice when the creatures killed my healers, but I was only running with two (and a “useless for this purpose” tac BOff). But my interaction was very minimal outside of getting to that point and just letting the game take care of itself.

I hope this helps anyone else to complete this goal.

Edit: Added enabling auto-attack for ground weapons.

Edit II: BOff kills do *not* count towards reaching the goal: https://www.reddit.com/r/sto/comments/l8xvz0/boff_kills_do_not_count_toward_the_recruit_goal/

https://www.reddit.com/r/sto/comments/l88pjp/2500_melee_kills_or_afk_for_fun_and_profit/

Leave a comment